Blog Banter: Terrain

This week’s Blog Banter deals with short-range force projection, specifically system layout knowledge versus cyno use.

Here is my brief take on it: I know my neighborhood pretty damn well. I know which station’s exit puts you in perfect alignment with a high-sec gate, I know which static plex puts you within scanning range of all celestials, I know which systems are the most populous and which systems are always full of docked-up PI pilots. I know which groups throw around cynos as bait, and where I would hotdrop to and from, were I so inclined.

Any external force looking to project itself into our region will be doing so blind to these factors. And while we may or may not have the firepower for a sustained defensive slugfest, we’ll be happy to use the often-ignored real advantages of terrain that already exist.

Leave a Reply

