(IC) Family Matters

Kathyayini wants me to come back to her.

Of course she does. Now that I’ve come to accept how things are, how things were going to be, it all changes yet again.

I told her that I want to be with her, and that I love her now as much as ever. But she needs to understand how important my career is.

It’s not about the money anymore. I could retire and we could live out our days comfortably for eons. Even as capsuleers and effectively immortal, we would likely never really want for anything. But A Band Apart is an integral part of who I am and who I want to be.

I’ve gone home for the time being. Phoenix is almost cleared out and Supreme Mathematics’ operations are being relocated to a new system; I have some assets in place but need to bring in much more, and to do that I really need a deep space transport – the certification for which will take me almost another two weeks.

She and I, along with the kids, are staying aboard the Dawn Treader for a while. Her kids, of course. Hjalmar has her own life and family, and still doesn’t talk to me much.

I’ve always been fond of the Stratios-class cruiser and the Treader is a fine and luxurious vessel. We’re touring Caldari space, a real treat for the children. Sjon is fascinated with the weapons systems and insists that every stray rock needs to be blasted with pulse lasers or have drones sent to obliterate it. I tried explaining how expensive Geckos are, but the concept of hundreds of millions in ISK is just a bit beyond a ten-year-old’s grasp. Little Yrsa just sits on the observation deck and watches the stars; I think she’s a bit homesick, but also seems glad that her mother and I are back together.

The School of Applied Knowledge is reviewing my latest work for publication. I’ve been out of the academic circle for so long that dealing with them seems foreign; I’m more accustomed these days to deep space exploration and combat than academic discourse. The new headmaster doesn’t seem to fond of us eggers; all of my old friends have either retired or moved on to other schools. Still, SaK is my alma mater and it will take more than a tweed-jacket knowitall from Perimeter to run me off. If I find the time, I may take up teaching again. I’m sure the archaeology department could use a professor with as much field experience as I have.

In the meantime, I’m enjoying some downtime with the family. It’s a welcome respite from the chaos out there.

Leave a Reply

